Toys (Safety) Regulations 2011
Toys designed or intended (whether or not exclusively) for use in play by children under 14 years old.
Market: Great Britain (UK). Legal basis: SI 2011/1881. The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Question | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| What it covers | Toys designed or intended (whether or not exclusively) for use in play by children under 14 years old. Matches products that: made for children. Further conditions: Not every product for children is a toy: some products are specifically excluded (regulation 4, e.g. toy steam engines) and Schedule 1 lists products not considered toys. 'Designed or intended for play' by under-14s is the test. Official wordingtoys designed or intended (whether or not exclusively) for use in play by children under 14 years old. | www.gov.uk read 2026-10-03 |
| How conformity is shown | Depends on the product or standards (see the note) Manufacturer carries out the conformity assessment, or has it carried out by an independent third party, depending on the category the product falls into; self-declaration is mentioned 'where the Regulations permit'. Official wordingb) determine the conformity procedure that applies, carry out the relevant conformity assessment procedure, (or have it carried out by an independent third party, depending on the category the product falls into) | www.gov.uk read 2026-10-03 |
| Mark and declaration | UKCA marking or CE marking; UK declaration of conformity if UKCA marked; EU declaration of conformity if CE marked CE recognition extended indefinitely in GB from 1 October 2024. Marking goes on the toy, a label on the toy or packaging; for very small toys a loose label or leaflet is allowed. Official wording4) Drawing up a declaration of conformity (UK DoC if UKCA marked, EU DoC if CE marked) | www.gov.uk read 2026-10-03 |
| Official fee | Not stated | — |
| Steps and documents | Included in the $49 checklist. See the checklist | — |