Electromagnetic Compatibility Regulations 2016
All electrical and electronic equipment which is liable to generate electromagnetic disturbance, with exceptions.
Market: Great Britain (UK). Legal basis: SI 2016/1091. The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Question | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| What it covers | All electrical and electronic equipment which is liable to generate electromagnetic disturbance, with exceptions. Matches products that: mains power or battery power. Further conditions: Exceptions (equipment covered by other specific instruments, aeronautical apparatus, equipment incapable of generating harmful interference, others in the Regulations) cannot be settled from the visitor's answers; battery/mains is a judgement for 'electrical and electronic equipment'. Official wordingThe 2016 Regulations apply to all electrical and electronic equipment which is liable to generate electromagnetic disturbance, with some notable exceptions. | www.gov.uk read 2026-10-03 |
| How conformity is shown | Depends on the product or standards (see the note) Manufacturer carries out the conformity assessment, or has it carried out by an independent third party, depending on the category the product falls into; self-declaration is mentioned 'where the Regulations permit'. Official wordingb) determine the conformity procedure that applies, carry out the relevant conformity assessment procedure, (or have it carried out by an independent third party, depending on the category the product falls into) | www.gov.uk read 2026-10-03 |
| Mark and declaration | UKCA marking or CE marking; UK declaration of conformity if UKCA marked; EU declaration of conformity if CE marked CE recognition extended indefinitely in GB from 1 October 2024. Where third-party assessment is required, a UK Approved Body gives UKCA; an EU Notified Body assessment allows CE. Official wordingd) draw up a declaration of conformity (UK DoC if UKCA marked, EU DoC if CE marked) | www.gov.uk read 2026-10-03 |
| Official fee | Not stated | — |
| Steps and documents | Included in the $49 checklist. See the checklist | — |