Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016
All electrical equipment designed or adapted for use between 50 and 1,000 volts AC or 75 and 1,500 volts DC, covering domestic and workplace equipment.
Market: Great Britain (UK). Legal basis: SI 2016/1101. The table shows what the official pages state, with the wording and the date we read it. A row marked "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it does not mean there is no rule.
What the official pages state
| Question | What the official page states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| What it covers | All electrical equipment designed or adapted for use between 50 and 1,000 volts AC or 75 and 1,500 volts DC, covering domestic and workplace equipment. Matches products that: mains power. Further conditions: Voltage limits (50-1,000 V AC; 75-1,500 V DC) and the exclusions in regulation 3(2) cannot be settled from the visitor's answers; 'mains' is a judgement for equipment in these voltage ranges (battery-only products are not stated to be covered). Official wordingThe Regulations apply to all electrical equipment that is designed or adapted for use between 50 and 1,000 volts (in the case of alternating current) and 75 and 1,500 volts (in the case of direct current). | www.gov.uk read 2026-10-03 |
| How conformity is shown | Not stated page says only 'carry out a relevant conformity assessment procedure'; does not state self-declaration or third party in the general case | — |
| Mark and declaration | UKCA marking or CE marking; UK declaration of conformity if UKCA marked; EU declaration of conformity if CE marked Manufacturer chooses UKCA, CE or CE+UKNI marking. CE recognition extended indefinitely in GB from 1 October 2024. Official wordinge) draw up a declaration of conformity (UK DoC if UKCA marked, EU DoC if CE marked) | www.gov.uk read 2026-10-03 |
| Official fee | Not stated | — |
| Steps and documents | Included in the $49 checklist. See the checklist | — |